Doomsday – The day of my placement

This is the blog post I wanted to write since quite some time but somehow couldn’t . This post is about my placement journey which started with Amazon and ended with Accenture.  So here it goes.

Amazon was the first company lined up this placement season. Nearly 600 students sat for the written test out of which only 28 could qualify and unfortunately i wasn’t one of them.

Next company was Deloitte LLC , its test was conducted by Aspiring Minds. There were around 600 students out of which 152 students qualified for the GD/PI. This time too my name wasn’t in the list. I felt really really bad. Part of this feel was because all of my friends cleared the test :P.

Another company, S&P Capital IQ was lined up. I collected my self up and got ready for yet another test. This time the requirements were high and only 100 students sat for the test. 38 students were shortlisted for further process but my streak continued and my name was once again not in the list. This was the breaking point for me. I couldn’t comprehend the things going on with me. Although I wasn’t the only one who failed in all these tests but surely this was something new for me. I couldn’t stop thinking about the worse REMAINING UNPLACED!!!

The next company lined up was Accenutre , it was a mass recruiter with 600+ vacancies and the situation was like its now or never. I buckled up and revisited all the concepts in quantitative and reasoning parts before the exam and then came the test day. I reached the college at 8:30AM and to my surprise 70% of students were already waiting outside the labs. This showed how important and tough it was going to be.And then the test started I took a deep breath and the test begun. Questions were mixed or may be I was puzzled but somehow I finished the test and came out. After one week the result was declared. I got the mail from TNP cell .The mail had the list of 700 students selected for the interview round. My heart started beating like hell. My hands were shivering and I couldn’t even type my name to search it. Part of this shivering was from fear of yet another failure.But somehow i managed the courage to type my name and hit the search button and there it goes, this time my name was there in the list. The streak was broken and I was shortlisted for the interviews. WOOHOO!!!.

And then came the Doomsday the interview day. My name was called up for the interview and I was made to sit for approximately 2 hours before the interview. I was sitting outside my interview room looking at students going in and coming out. It was the first time that I was sitting so quiet and waiting for my turn. Then came my turn. Interview went well, I can’t say more on that. It just went!. Then another interview with HR and the process was over. I came out of the HR interview called my mom told her about the experience, then called my friends and told them too. Overall my interviews went good and I was confident but you can’t be sure until everything finalized. On my way back to home all I could think was more clever answers to the questions asked and the question whether I’ll be selected or not. After 5 long days which seemed like 5 months the result came out and  fortunately my name was there in the list. I was on the ninth cloud. All I could manage was a big and weird smile on my face. I took a deep breath and said Now It Ends… :).

I’m writing this post after so many days of placements but I can still feel the same vibe while writing this.

Leave a Reply

